Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2009, 02:07   #1

Boat: Careel 22
pirate Four Trimarans - Help Me Choose

G'day mates,
As I'm new to the world of Trimarans and sailing in general, (the only sail boats I've been aboard were mates yachts in the Med' and down is Durban, S, Africa and I believe they only took me along as extra ballast) so please don't laugh at what, may seem to you, to be stupid questions.
I was wondering if any of you folks with trimaran sailing experience would mind sharing your views with me.

If you had the choice between a 30 to 35 foot Piver Tri or a 30 to 35 foot Hedley Nicol Tri, which would you chose and why?
I would also like to know which medium you would prefer the Tri was built in, hulls and decks, fibre-glass over marine-ply or composite, which I believe, is straight fiber-glass but I'm probably wrong about that.
I would like to live aboard the vessel I end up with and a bit of comfort is always nice...plus the fact that I did not truly enjoy my sailing experiences on monohulls under sale...I did not like my dinner ending-up on the cabin deck I believe cats and trimarans are much more stable at sea.
Thanking you in advance for your advice.

Bill from Aus'
Old 22-02-2009, 08:09   #2

Boat: Lindenberg 26 & Aloha 8.2