Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2015, 11:48   #1

Considering a Beneteau 45: Rigging Questions

I'm new to this online community, but not new to sailing. I'm at the beginning of the process, but we're shopping new boats, and considering a beneteau 45. I've been doing a bit of reading, and have questions for those who have actually sailed either sister ships or those of similar design. Just trying to collect as much informed opinion as I can.

I like windward sailing. I also recognize sometimes where you want to go is up wind, and I like to get home from a reach. I have read of the weakness of a shoal draft and furling main when close to the wind, and wonder how much is true. If it is, which would be the most effective way to combat it? Longer keel has obvious cruising implications (for Long Island Sound), and hauling a mainsail in on this boat might be a chore. Are vertical battens a solution? I'm not a big racer, but I don't like to be passed. I'm inclined to get a traditional mainsail, but really don't know for sure.

Second... what of this rumor of the rudder losing grip on a beat? I read someone's opinion that the rig should have been dual ruddered. I'm obviously not fixing that, but the author suggested reefing sooner rather than later. Well that has implications for what kind of main to set up!

Third... I see an option for a second headstay, and wonder how many times I might use a smaller headsail. For those with one, how big is it, and what amount of time do you find yourself reefing, or wishing you had a self tacking headsail?

Thanks so much. I hope to join you all soon.