Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-04-2018, 12:08   #1

Catamarans with Big Outboard Motors

I was watching some YouTube the other day and the guy made a comment about how some modern catamarans are coming with really decent motors/engines that allow proper cruising without the sail.

I was shopping for a motorboat, because I can't sail. But if I had a catamaran with tons of engine power I could live the best of both worlds.

I am a total newbie when it comes to catamarans, I couldn't even name one company who makes them...

Can someone give me a shove in the right direction. Say 30-40' cat with real cruising power without the sails. Brand New boat priced around $150-200k out the door (no tax). Something you can live on for 3-5 days, party on, cruise around, fish, dive, swim etc.

I'm not looking for a blue water boat specifically... but you all know as I learn to sail i'll want to venture further and further, so a fairly capable boat required.

I read somewhere "Buy your second boat first", I am trying to buy my 3rd or 4th boat first, without going too far over the top.

One day I would like to go from Thailand (my home base) to Micronesia hopping all along the way. I am not saying this boat has to be able to make that journey, but if it could it would be nice.
Krabi Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2018, 12:31   #2

Re: Catamarans with Big Outboard Motors

Any sort of cruising cat will do that for ya. Not with outboards though. Stick to diesel inboards imo.
Leopard... something like that. Basically the sail cat without the stick.
hobopacket is offline   Reply With Quote