Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2004, 08:07   #1
sjs

Apples & Oranges

I have no multihull experience, tho I am scheduled to charter one this year. Without getting into all of the other comparisons between monohulls and multihulls, and admitting that I have attempted no research of my own on this, is there a general statement that can be made about the price of multihulls versus that of monohulls?

I am sure this is trying to compare apples to oranges but I wanted to ask.
sjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2004, 09:29   #2

Location: Fredericton, NB, Canada in the summer and fall; Caribbean in winter and spring aboard Cat Tales.
Boat: FP Tobago 35 (and a H-21 SE)
I'd like to give that question a try, given that I have only recently fought through the marketplace and purchased a multihull. Mind you, I am only just now drawing conclusions from my own experience. So I consider:

1. Materials and labour. There can be a lot more material in a multihull or at least a lot more labour than for a similar waterline length. After all, you are constructing more than one hull. Indeed, with a catamaran, the cockpit and salon are an "extra" space again to construct;

2. Newness. Only recently have these boats been produced by factory systems in any real numbers, compared to the many years of construction of monohulls in all sizes and types of construction. I suggest all these older boats that are still afloat or waiting in their cradles for new dreamers may be competing to keep the general price down, even for the newer models.