Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2020, 08:02   #1

Boat: 1984 Ericson 30+
Why do mainsails have booms

To further clarify the thought behind the question, I realize that headsails I assume generally don't have a boom because you wouldn't be able to tack/gybe it past the the mast, but if you can run a headsail without a boom then why have a boom on the main?

To whit, I'm new to this sailing stuff, trying to learn all I can. Any book recommendations on where I can learn about different types of rigging and how/when to employ them?

thanks
JayBee74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2020, 08:21   #2

Location: La Ciudad de la Misión Didacus de Alcalá en Alta California, Virreinato de Nueva España
Boat: Cal 20
Re: Why do mainsails have booms

Easier to control the shape.
Also a lot of early boats didn't have backstays and the boom overhung the stern resulting in significantly greater area. Might be a holdover from an earlier era.
Adelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2020, 08:30   #3

I'm not an experienced sailor but I'll take a stab at it. With a boom, you can maintain the lateral tension on the foot of the sail even if the sail is extended past the sides of the boat. Without a boom, you can only maintain the shape of the foot of the mainsail if your mainsheet extends aft at 45 degrees or so. This means your mainsail can't extend aft as far and can't be flown outside the hulls while still maintaining the shape of the foot.
NPCampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2020, 08:35   #4