Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2011, 09:31   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Corbin 39
Valiant 40 ?

Hi, this is my first post (apart from the greeting section) so hope this is the correct place to post this! I am new to sailing but am studying and have had lessons that included Sailing to Northern Africa recently! Myself and a freind who has experience intend to sail from Gibraltar to Tenerife (Novemeber 2011) and then head to the Caribean, well, this is the idea! I am looking for a boat at the moment (it seems to be a brilliant time to buy due to the current world economy?), ive tons of questions for you guys that have done this for years! My research shows that the Valiant 40 is a hugely popular boat (without the blisters), my budget, tops, would be 40,000 euros (sea worthy ready to go), could you please advise in the current market what i could get for this (I would like 38-40 ft with 2 cabins), also what ¨offers¨are being accepted, i.e..if a boat is advertized at $90,000 what are they going for?
Not sure if my next question is for another thread so forgive me if it should not be here...I was wondering how many of you ¨drop Anchor¨, and if weather means you have to pay moorings for a few days, how much does that cost and in a period of one month how many days would you not be able to drop anchor! Many thanks for such a brilliant forum, Best, Pablo.
pablothesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2011, 10:46   #2

Boat: Nassau 42 SV Ceol Mor
You have excellent taste! Valiant 40s are indeed, fantastic boats. We loved them but sadly could not find one in our price range in decent shape. I will point out that we purchased our boat a year and half ago( so same market conditions) and had a more generous budget than the number you mention.