Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2021, 23:50   #1

Question Upper size limit

I'm new to cruising and I am trying to work out how big of a boat I can have before I start to run into too many limitations around the world at the various locations.

At what length does a boat start to find it hard to:
1. Get a berth in a marina?
2. Get hauled out of the water?
Boatwithnoname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 00:19   #2

Re: Upper size limit

This isn't a good question, as people are cruising on 300' superyachts and have fun. Depending on the size of the boat, the type of cruising you can do and that is fun changes. You won't go gunkholing in the aforementioned superyacht.

If we talk sailboats, usually the sweet-spot seem to be 6' draft. You get a lot more option if your draft is below 4' and the boat can fall dry. Racers have usually a lot more draft, which makes them better offshore but more difficult to get into places.

Another factor is the size of the crew. Up to 45' or so it's easy to sail single-hand without electric winches. After this, things get big and some electric assistance is very welcome for sail-handling. In the past, for a couple the sweet-spot was 35'to 42', now it moved up to 42' to 50'.

You need first to figure out what kind of cruising you want to do before talking size.

For marinas, under 35' it's easy and cheap, 35' - 45' will be still be affordable and over 50' prices go up.

Same for available options to haul out. 35' often still can be done with a mobile crane and over 50' expect yards to tell you, they can't accommodate you.
Joh.Ghurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 01:13   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31

Are you solo or a family?

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 01:49   #4