Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2022, 10:26   #1
CJ7

Boat: Looking
Trailer Sailer Suggestions

Looking for some advice on what to look for. But first, I need to give a bit of background information (apologies in advance if I bloviate too much about my situation). First of all, I am a complete newbie when it comes to sailing. I have long daydreamed about it and living aboard a boat, but I never really looked into it for two reasons. First, I thought it was something only the wealthy could do, and I, a public school teacher, was far from that. Second, my wife frequently suffers from motion sickness, so I figured long hours on a boat was a non-starter. However, after learning recently of the many older affordable sailboats that can be had, and hearing about the effectiveness of seasick patches, I began to daydream again.
Now my wife loves the ocean and loves fishing, but the idea of long travel away from sight of land makes her fearful. But, since she always desired to live by the ocean, and she has warmed to the idea of a boat that she could fish from, I am looking for a comfortable trailer sailer that we could spend a week on in relative comfort (kind of like living out of a small camper). I am hoping that if we can get started on something like that, then we might be able to move up to a larger liveaboard (if the experience is positive). We live about an hour from the gulf, so I am looking for something trailerable to avoid marina fees, but I would like something large enough that I can live with it being my only boat if the experience is not positive enough for my wife. I would like something with standing headroom if possible (I am only 5’9”) and that I can get for around $10K.