Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-11-2015, 13:36   #1

Boat: Hunter 380
To Pull the Boat for Winter? If So, When?

This is my first year owning my Catalina 25 (swing keel version) and I'm wondering whether I need to pull my boat for the winter, and if so, when.

From what I've read, conventional wisdom is to pull swing keels yearly to inspect the keel cable (mine was last inspected in February prior to launch). Any additional info on keeping swing keels in the water for an extended time?

What else should I consider? Not sure when water freezes in my part of the Chesapeake (Solomons). But if I'm going to winterize anyways, is this really worth worrying about?
nickfox45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2015, 14:12   #2
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34
Re: To Pull the Boat for Winter? If So, When?

The best information is always local. But...

I'm in Deale. We seldom get enough ice to do any damage. I have not hauled in 20 years. In Solomons you should be pretty safe.

You still need to winterize water systems. That said, there is no reason you can't take her out on a nice light wind 50F January day and have the river to yourself! A big advantage of out board powered boats. I have outboards, will winterize the water system in a few weeks, but will sail straight through.
Old 01-12-2015, 05:50   #3

Boat: Hunter 380

Quote:
Originally Posted by thinwater View Post
The best information is always local. But...

I'm in Deale. We seldom get enough ice to do any damage. I have not hauled in 20 years. In Solomons you should be pretty safe.