Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-12-2012, 10:00   #1

Boat: Catalina 27
Through Hull-Valve Broken or Not-Broken?

Hello fellow captains and sailors! I'm new to the sailing community after purchasing a 74' Catalina 27 a few months back.

Absolutely love this boat, however it does need some TLC.
Im currently in the middle of putting a new head in the bathroom, (did not enjoy the 20yr old porta-potty) and when I was testing the through hull sewage outlet valve, I noticed the middle of the valve cracked all the way around (see picture.) There was no leaking, Im just not sure if this is a decade of corrosion breaking free, or if this valve needs to be replaced ASAP before it sinks the boat? Would repairing the valve or turning it into a seacock be possible? If I am replacing the valve does anyone recommend a brand or type of seacock and a recipe to seal the valve to the hull?

Also, does anyone know any regulations stating whether a sewage holding tank must be connected to a thru-deck outlet? I was going to setup a sewage tank that I could disconnet and manually take out of the cabin myself (10gallon capacity? or pump out of) I mean is this really different then emptying the base of a porta-potty? I just hate to have to drill holes for a thru-deck fitting and run hoses and venting outside, its a really crapy job.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cat27 fitting.JPG
Views:	795
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	51339  
Jado27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 10:05   #2

Re: Through Hull-Valve Broken or Not-Broken?

Firstly, start here for your seacock question:
Replacing Thru-Hulls and Seacocks Photo Gallery by Compass Marine at pbase.com