Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2014, 15:38   #1

Suggestions for a 1st boat capable of a trip to Belize

Hi all,

Looking for some suggestions for my "first" sailing boat, something that's easy for solo operations and will get me to Belize or perhaps even down to Panama from the gulf coast.

As a "nautical newb" with limited experience (i've done some light sailing on the Great Lakes, but in nothing larger than a 14', and I've no salt water experience to date). I'm not expecting that I'm going to buy this thing, sail out of the slip and down to Belize the first day I own it (though it's does make for nice daydream!). I guess my goal would be to attempt the trip within a few months after I'm well and truly comfortable with both the ship, as well as gained more confidence in my sailing and navigational skills.

I've seen some listings in my "ideal" price range of about 10-15K or so, but that's limiting me to the 22' - 25' size, and older vessels. I worry though that a 22' might be a bit on the small side.

Please note this isn't a WTB post, i'm looking for suggestions only. I'm not ready to buy, but instead am looking for some suggestions from folks with more experience than I.

Thanks!
jsmccombs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 15:54   #2

Boat: Cape Dory 33
Re: Suggestions for a 1st boat capable of a trip to Belize

You could probably find a Pearson Triton in that price range and they will take you anywhere you want to go. A Bristol 27 would be another good candidate. You might be able to find an Alberg 30, but likely would need a bit more money for upgrades.

You can find Catalina 27's all day long but you'd need to know their limitations and overcome them with a combination of upgrades and good sailing.