Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2010, 17:37   #1

Boat: Farrier, F9AX, rotating rig
Soooo Many Boats to Choose from...

Dear all, I have been shopping for "my" perfect boat for about a year now, and my shopping time frame is coming to an end. May I have your advice on the list of finalists I have come up with. Feel free to add another option if you want to really mix me up.

I have about 40 years sailing experience, mainly racing ( dinghies at first and on to small keel boats, more recently in International Etchells for the last ten years). I have limited cruising experience, having chartered a dozen times mainly coastal N.E. Canada & US. My spouse (faithfull crew for 30 years) has as much experience as I, and flies a mean kite in up to 25 knts. We have lots of sailboat handling skills, but indeed have much to learn about the cruising life. However we have decided to give it a crack, starting with a 6 month sabbatical in the Bahamas, winter 2011. I wish to by the boat this spring, sail costal as much as possible this summer/fall to get acquainted with the boat and move it down to Fla to get ready for the Bahamas escapade. we will be sailing with our two young children, a boy, 10 and a girl 12, we will home school them.

I have come up with the following conclusions: I would like a 40 to 45 footer, with three cabins (kid's privacy and additional guests option), shoal draft preferable (although I am told anything up to 7' is probably OK), furling main also OK. However, my racing biais knows all about shoal draft and furling mains... OUPS, I forgot, I'm not going racing...