Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2016, 17:42   #1

Boat: Shannon Pilothouse 38
Sequence of events during purchase?

Hey all, need some of your collective experience here....

I've made an offer on a boat and I'm working on details with the broker. I've read the draft of the contract they sent me and it looks good, but this is my first time buying a boat through a broker so I'm trying to make sure I don't make any wrong assumptions. Also I should say that so far I think the broker is very honest and professional and the reputation of the brokerage is just that.

So I've made the offer and the broker said the owner is still considering it, and although it was roughly 20% below asking price she said that it should be at least close enough that we can work something out.

The broker said I don't need to make a deposit until survey. I'm traveling right now and can't be there for a survey for almost 3 weeks. So my first concern is that someone else comes along and offers more money in the meantime. Is it ever advisable to put down a deposit before survey, or otherwise expect that the boat will not be shown to other prospective buyers?

Second, can I expect that there will be a counter offer within a certain time frame, and if we agree on a pre-survey price at what point does this become binding?