Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2015, 11:43   #1

Boat: Hanse 531
pirate Seeking Advice for Suitable Boat and Happiness at Sea

Cheers,

I found this place a week or so ago, and after reading a few hundred fascinating posts I'm quite happy that I've stumbled upon forum that is not filled with people irritatingly trolling and fighting, but actually seems to be about beginners as well as awesomely well-versed and knowledgeable people making intelligent conversation - kudos to you all!

I'm 42 and I've been sailing for more than 15 years (don't remember exactly how long). Some offshore competitions as a junior crew member (my first one was the Bergen-Shetland race in a strong gale, complete with scopoderm patches and groovy hallucinations ), but more often just archipelago cruising in Finland and a few longer offshore trips from Finland to Sweden and Denmark with my own boat.

I love the open sea. The tranquility and beauty of sky and clouds blending into water. The unchained rest from busy streets filled with busy people reading their busy calendars. Peace.

I also love to plan - maybe dream - ahead before I eventually make quite spontaneous decisions. I actually think that good decisions can come from stuffing my head with huge amounts of information, letting the subconscious dwell on this night and day, and then finally take the leap of faith spontaneously, instead of trying to be overly rational based on something that's maybe a bit incomplete.

Don't know, but it's worked (or maybe it hasn't?) this far.

So. Seeking advice for a suitable boat and happiness at sea, and here's where we at the moment: