Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-04-2021, 18:15   #1

Sailboat calculations questions

I’ve been researching sailboats for a few years now and am curious how the sailboat calculations you would find about a specific vessel stack up to real world cruiser experience. As an example I’d like to use the beneteau 36 cc

Per sailboatdata.com

Calculations

S.A./Disp.: 18.09

Disp./Len.: 195.19

Comfort Ratio: 21.61 [ 20 - 30 indicates a coastal cruiser does this mean the vessel is absolutely not suitable for any ocean crossing? Would it be suitable for a trip through the Caribbean or even a coconut milk run?

Capsize Screening Formula: 2.12 [ “the boat is better suited for ocean passages if the result of the calculation is 2.0 or less” I assume this means with full sheets out so in anyone’s expert opinion would this boat be “suitable” for ocean passages with a good captain sailing conservatively at 80%?

Also interested in any other opinions/experience on all sailboat calculations

Sorry this is long winded Thanks for your help!

Fair winds
Saltandsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 18:30   #2

Re: Sailboat calculations questions

The main users of those numbers are journalists having to write something clever about any new boat they've only seen shortly at best and armchair-sailors. Better go out sailing instead of w*nking over ranking lists with those numbers.
Joh.Ghurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 18:53   #3
Freelance Delivery Skipper..

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Sailboat calculations questions

Well I have solo'd a Bene 321 (2.11) from the Caribe to the UK non stop and a Bene 331 (2.08) from the Caribe to Portugal..
I reckon it'll be just fine..

Born To Be Wild.. Double Click on the picture.