Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2010, 13:09   #1

Safest Family Cruising Boat ?

I'm new to sailing and intend to continuing sharpening my sailing skills on a daysailer, but my wife and I are talking about a long-term dream of a year or more of live-aboard sailing sometime within the next ten years. We want a boat that'll fit mom and dad and three kids. Priorities in order of importance: safety, roominess, maintainability. Livability is important, but I don't need leather upholstery. Budget is up to 200k. We're open to both mono- and multi-hull recommendations. We're in no hurry at all to buy.

I'd also welcome any book recommendations for long-term travelling. I'm not planning on being rich, so any books on self-sustained sailng are welcome. So far, the only sailing literature I've read is Moby Dick and The Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner.
morrobay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 13:29   #2

Sorry to not address your post directly (there are a lot of safe boats) but if you are from Morro Bay, California, that is one beautiful place. (close to San Simeon if memory serves me.)
TexSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 13:35   #3

Boat: Mason 53
G'day, mate. Mason's would definitely be on that list. Built rock solid to carry the weight requirements of living aboard, internal keel, and heaps of storage. We had an awesome whale sighting coming out of Morrow Bay after a refueling stop once. Cheers.
matauwhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 14:19   #4

Location: hailing port: Pensacola on the stern, bodies in Fort Myers
Boat: Prout Snowgoose 37'