Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2020, 14:08   #1

Questions about a 1972 Pearson 36

Im a novice to the sailing world. I grew up in South Florida with one foot in the ocean in some sort or another my entire life. I decided to go green and buy a Live-aboard Sailboat.
The 1972 Pearson 36 really caught my eye but the ones Ive seen are expensive (they seem over-priced when considering other boats around that caliber).
What is a fair price for such a boat in decent to good condition?
Is 30-45k about right?

Is there possibly a website to check Sailboat price, sorta like Bluebook for cars?

Can someone please throw me a few ideas for which boats I should be looking for? I dont want something massive as my first boat. Max is 37 feet or there abouts.

Any tips will be greatly appreciated.
Projectfreedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 14:12   #2

Boat: Hinckley Bermuda 40
Re: Questions about a 1972 Pearson 36

May want to take a look at Endeavor 37 or a Morgan Out Island 33. Not fabulous sailors, but solidly built. Most likely anything in that vintage about ready for a serious refit. If you can do the work, it makes sense as long as you’re not trying to turn a buck on it.
Old 02-12-2020, 14:25   #3

Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49

Quote:
Originally Posted by Projectfreedom View Post
Im a novice to the sailing world. I grew up in South Florida with one foot in the ocean in some sort or another my entire life. I decided to go green and buy a Live-aboard Sailboat.