Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2020, 06:30   #1

Boat: Passport 47
question about Sabre 42 or 45

I've been looking for a "heavy displacement" boat for long rang cruising and living aboard a few months a year. Think Valiant, Pacific Seacraft, Caliber. However, of late Sabre has caught my attention. Can anyone tell me if the Sabres pound in heavy seas? The bow design doesn't appear to me that it would give the sea kindly entry as some of the others. I'm not a designer or builder, so this is just a hunch and I'd like to hear from Sabre owners and/or sailors. If you own or have sailed a Sabre in the 38-45 foot range, I would also welcome any general comments.
ThaidUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2020, 14:08   #2

Boat: Sabre 402
Re: question about Sabre 42 or 45

I've owned a Calibre 35 for about 10 years, and then bought a Sabre 402 about 11 years ago. These are both great boats, and perform well in adverse conditions. Its hard to do a 'boat to boat' comparison because of the larger size of the Sabre, but she has been a very comfortable boat in challenging conditions. While the Caliber may have been initially designed for longer passages, I've been more happy in the Sabre due to the sharper bow, strong tall rig, a more simple sail plan. She is practical, fast, smooth, elegant and has beautiful lines. Some people love the cutter rig on the Calibre, but I thought it was too much more gear for only marginal (if any) performance in heavy weather.