Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2019, 10:02   #1

Boat: Hunter 466
Propeller pitch

I couldn't find any thread about this...

I have owned my Hunter 466 (2003 model) since 2006. I'm still learning all the ins and outs of the powered aspect of a sailboat. I have the engine sort of figured out but have tended to neglect the shaft and prop aside from cleaning the barnacles off and keeping the anodes in working order.

I had the engine's injectors serviced 2 years ago (replaced 2 and cleaned the others) because the engine was running very smokey. At that time I was told to run the engine at higher RPM's to keep it happy... I had been running it at about 2500-3000 RPM thinking that was ideal. So I ran it at max throttle (3100 RPM).

I recently hauled out the boat to bottom coat and was told by the mechanic who replaced the cutlass bearing (different from the guys who serviced the engine 2 years ago) after doing his sea trial that my propeller is likely "over-pitched" as the engine (Yanmar 4JH3-TE) with a Kanzaki KM4A transmission (gear ratio 2.63) is not running at the right RPM at full throttle - should be 3900 RPM and the most I can get is about 3100 RPM. Of course he told me this AFTER we were back in the water. I explained that the prop was set at the same pitch as when I got the boat and assumed it was correct. He said that sailboat owners tend to over-pitch their props thinking they are saving fuel running at lower RPMs (as I was doing), but in fact are just wasting fuel out the exhaust (something to do with the turbo charging). I decided to look into this.