Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-12-2016, 07:45   #1

Ocean Crossing Upgrades

Hi all, I am new to the sailing world and find myself hooked on the idea of buying a production boat in the Med and sailing it around the world. I am chasing the advice of experienced cruisers or anyone that has done the same. I see that the typical production boats 36-40ft (bavaria cruisers, beneteau oceanis, jeanneau sun odyssey) can be bought in the range of 60-100K AUD, ranging from early 2000's up until 2009. It seems alot of these boats have been used for chartering and do not have all of the gear required for water sailing">blue water sailing.
I would like peoples opinions of these boats in relation to blue water sailing?
And also, what are the typical upgrades I would have to do to get them up to standard, and the costs involved of that (ball park)?
Your thoughts and information on this topic is much appreciated!
Happy sailing
moorzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2016, 07:56   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Re: Ocean Crossing Upgrades

Chuck in an EPIRB and and AIS and you're good to go.

That's how I did it

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2016, 08:30   #3

Boat: a sailing boat

Quote:
Originally Posted by moorzy View Post

(...)

I would like peoples opinions of these boats in relation to blue water sailing?

(...)
They were not designed nor built for blue water use. Yet, some of them are used just for that. Basically, people tend to sail out in whatever they actually have.