Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-02-2015, 08:53   #1

Boat: Tanzer 27
New owner-refit questions

I just purchased a 1983 Tanzer 27. It has been sitting for 10 years. It comes with a yanmar diesel (condition unknown). I am a complete newbie and would like to get started refitting her. The boat is at a yard and because of weather conditions I cannot move it until we get rid of this snow and ice. In the meantime I would like to get some things done and plan to have her in the water this sailing season. I will make an inventory of everything on board as a start and then go on to.....? I realize the motor maybe toast but if it is I plan going with a outboard. Your thoughts and ideas are greatly appreciated from this newbie.
larman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2015, 09:28   #2

Re: New owner-refit questions

As someone whose 1st and 4th boats were in similar situations, my first advice would be - if you are not a mechanic yourself find a good diesel mechanic independent of any boatyards or who can work in his spare time at less than boatyard rates ($25-40/hr vs $75-100/hr). Most diesels even those left sitting for a long time are repairable, often with minimum of effort, as long as the person doing the repairs does not have incentive to gouge you or sell you a new engine installation. With a knowledgeable mechanic and parts from a distributor or online most of these old work horses can be brought to life for under $2-3K, a fraction of what it would cost you to re-power.