Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-11-2014, 13:59   #1
BAM

Need to see out from all berths - boat suggestions?

I'm looking to purchase my first boat in the next 18 months, and we will sail almost exclusively as a couple, with a bit of single-handing. This probably sounds a little odd to the average person, but I'm a retired San Diego cop and if I can't wake up frequently and take a quick look around out windows in my berth, then I won't sleep at all.

Here are the basic requirements: Monohull, 38-46' boat, must have 2 heads, be easy for a couple or single-hander to manage, and have the ability to see out a "window" (dead light or port light) at least to each side of the boat from the master berth and preferably all berths, and must have a hatch big enough for an adult to get through.

Things that would be nice would be a center cockpit, self-tacking jib, a sea-kindly design, and something sturdy, as we'd like to sail to the South Pacific and back in this boat, plus live-aboard eventually. I'm not a fan of the Ikea design craze in boats right now, but would learn to live with that and will just add handholds. Unless we win the Lotto, I'm looking at a price range of 95K-210K or so, so for those of you who are thinking that the 46' Hylas is perfect - I think so too, but we can't afford one.

I'm welcome to all suggestions and am making a list to search for and to give to our broker to search, as well. No rush on this - so please add here anytime you come across a boat that you think might work. I appreciate everyone's help! -Beth
BAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2014, 14:18   #2