Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2014, 09:31   #1

Need Help Choosing Blue Water Boat....

Hello Everybody,

This is my first and most important thread. What Blue Water Sailboat to buy this spring. BABA 30, Westsail 32, Fiji 35, Liberty 28...

Quick background; My girlfriends and I have been sailing for 3 years now, year one 16' Oday learning to sail, 2nd and 3rd years on 21' San Juan, learning to sail some more. Now we are wanting to buy a Blue water cruiser 28' to 35' under $40,000 and become sailors. This summer we want to work the kinks out of the new girl, sail it on the bay, venture into the ocean, and live aboard part-time til winter returns. The following spring sail south and see where life takes us.

My research has lead me to the boats mentioned above. I like the classic look and heavy displacement full keel. Not having years of open water experience and my girlfriend onboard, safety and build is at the top of the list. Next is a cutter rig, having a smaller sail plan. I would like to keep the draft under 5'. I have inspected two Weststail 32, beautiful but wondering if I would like the Baba 30 more. Less draft, smaller bowspirit, hopefully faster, looks roomy below, but all that teak draws concern. There are 2 Baba 30 in my area for under 40,000 and as soon as the snow leaves going to go take a gander.