Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2020, 18:50   #1

Boat: Catalina Morgan 381
My turn... first new boat

Ahoy,

I should start by giving a big thanks to all the members that have already unknowingly answered most of my questions. Through the miracle of search I have found answers to almost everything, but I would like some clarification and advice on a few remaining matters.

My relevant details:
  • I have being doing the bash and crash on Lasers and Hobie cats for ages. Now I want to sail on a boat where I won't spill my drink and dry righting isn't a thing.
  • I have some keelboat experience on OTBs 26'-54' and did a bare boat cruising course (CYA forgot the number) many many years ago.
  • I am 5-10 years from retirement which will (hopefully) include extended Caribbean cruising. Until then we hope to cruise Long Island Sound with summer sunset cruises and weekenders on Cape Cod.
  • I will get the biggest boat I can afford now and forego any intermediate boat. I will spend the intervening time preparing the boat and myself for cast off in 10-ish years.
  • I want to stay under $100k-ish all in, so $60-$70k for the boat (survey, taxes etc), $20-$30k for upgrades and refit, and $10k for the things I didn't think of. I don't mind having to do upgrades, in fact I would prefer some things (electronics) be left to me to upgrade, but I DO NOT want a project boat.

So, my remaining concerns: