Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2014, 08:06   #1

Boat: Jeanneau 43 Deck Salon
Moody 419?

Hello all,

I will be looking at what I think is a 1984 Moody 419 centerboard. It has been extended to 45 feet overall by extending the stern. I'm told the work was done by a reputable yard on the east coast after she was sailed across the Atlantic. Not being an engineer I'm concerned about this modification.
I also see that the ports are different and the salon appears to be slightly modified too. I have not sailed a centerboard is this good or bad? any input about this boat and it's suitability for cruising to places far and near would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Link to listing below
1985 Moody Custom Sail Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com
Lennie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 08:32   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Re: Moody 419?

An older Bill Dixon design made by a high quality builder in the UK. A bit old fashioned (naturally; the boat is 30 years old) but these are solid, well-made, seaworthy, and comfortable boats, if a little cavelike below as boats of those era tend to be.

Stern extensions on plain transom boats are pretty common and should not be of any concern if well executed. Nearly all the Oyster 53's of the '80's, for example, were converted to 55's by adding a stern extension.