Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-09-2006, 08:25   #1

Lots of Questions

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to sailing, I'm working my way up to bareboat certification. I'll be chartering for a few years, but plan to buy a cruising boat eventually.

I am starting my research now but there is daunting amount of info and boats out there. My first contraint is obviously budget, I surely would need a boat for less than 100k and that would be stretching it. 50-60k would be more realistic. I would like a boat between 32 and 40 feet. The order of my boat attributes would be seaworthiness first, then comfort and lastly performance. Other than that I'm open to any thing else. I can repair the interior as long as it's seaworthy.

Any info or links are greatly appreciated, but I have some pretty basic and probably stupid questions:

-Who pays the broker commision on a boat sale, buyer/seller?

-What is the length of financing options for a used boat, ie how many years can I stretch put the payments for?

-What brands are luxury and what brands just give you a seaworthy boat without the unnecessary luxuries? (e.g. a toyota is a good car, but a lexus is a nicer toyota)

Thanks for any answers, I know these aren't the most interesting or intelligent questions.
Old 30-09-2006, 08:57   #2

Boat: Tayana 48
NYSAIL
The seller pays the commission, but the buyer may or may not have to pay for the haul-out and survey (try to negotiate this with the broker or owner).
As for the "which boat" question...very subjective, and you will get 12 answers for every 10 sailors you ask, but given your parameters, I'm partial to a Tayana 37 for your needs/ wants.
Good luck,
John
Old 30-09-2006, 10:30   #3

Thanks Meridian!
Old 30-09-2006, 10:32   #4
Senior Cruiser

Boat: 1980 Endeavour 43 (Ketch)