Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 06:44   #1

Boat: 1984 Hans Christian 33t
Looking to Buy a Boat

Am ready to buy my first boat and I will ask the million dollar question, which one?
I looked ay a 1973 islander but it needed a complete retrofit and I'm not up to doing this, I also have my eye on a 1995 beneteau 32 first which I know is a completely different boat but I think it's more what I'm looking for. I am new to sailing so I will be costal sailing in the beginning in costa rica where I live, after lots of time when ready I would want to start visiting other places like isla del cocos and eventually the Galapagos islands then who knows?
My budget is in the 30k range, the beneteau is listed slightly higher but as most these days a motivated seller. I will have to buy the boat in the states as there in no selection down here. There is a 30% import tax in costa rica so I may register the boat in Canada as I am a Canadian.
Any thoughts are appreciated
Ruffriders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 16:14   #2

Boat: Hylas 49
I would not think the First would be a good offshore boat or a good first boat. Is is a racer, lightly built and minimal interior. There are thousands of boats out there. Take your time and get the right one for your circumstances.
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 14:45   #3

Boat: VandeStadt IOR 40' - Insatiable
Re: Looking to Buy a Boat