Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2014, 19:52   #1

Just Bought a Sailing Dinghy...I need Advice

Hey everyone, I'm new to sailing and just bought my first boat last week. I bought this 11 foot, 2 inch fiberglass dinghy for $500, I guess its a "cat rig". I live on Vancouver island in the Comox valley and just want to sail around locally (on lakes and maybe on the ocean close to shore )and learn to sail.

I took it out on a lake the other day and started to think there must be a better way to rig up the sail, or that maybe I just need some more cleats, pulleys etc.

*sorry in advance for my ignorance of boat and sailing terms*

It seems I should set up a "main sheet" instead of the ring on the boom (held on with a hose clamp).

Can you guys take a look and tell me what you think needs to change? The only way to fasten the tack of the sail is to wrap the rope (that goes from the head of the sail....NOT the halyard) around the mast and then cleat it off, which is a pain because the halyard is also cleated off there. I have a rope tied off at the head which goes through the grommets and down the tack.

Thanks a million for any help and/or advice you can give to this eager greenhorn!

PHOTOS:

3rd one is where the boom connects to the mast...seems kind of homebrew to me....suggestions?

4th is the boom (uhhh, bow end?) with the "clew"

5th is the stays and 6th is the top of mast with halyard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.JPG
Views:	225
Size:	157.1 KB
ID:	83288   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 3.JPG
Views:	232
Size:	175.6 KB
ID:	83289  

Name:	photo5.jpg