Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2014, 16:37   #1

Boat: IP 40
Island Packet Model Comparison

Howdy Folks,

My wife and I have been hunting for our next boat for the past 3-4 months and our scope has crept quit a bit since we started hunting. When we started we where just looking for a learner boat, something to build some experience on. The more boats we’ve looked at the more we’ve tailored our desired features. Our goal is to spend at least a couple weekends a month on the boat initially probably nights in the marina but as our comfort level grows and we start building some experience in the Gulf Of Mexico, weekends on the hook would be nice. We’d also plan to spend several weeks a year cruising the Gulf coast with some trips down to Mexico and the Caribbean. We’re looking for comfortable accommodations for two couples. We value overall comfort above speed and pure upwind ability. For us, a comfortable motion, comfortable living space at the dock and at anchor and solid build quality are critical. We’d like a boat that will be forgiving of our lack of experience and that we can feel comfortable in as we gradually work our way up to longer and longer trips. In addition rather than treating this next boat purely as a stepping stone to an eventual mid to upper 40s foot cruising boat, we’d like to have the option of keeping it for our full time cruising aspirations. Since we realize our desired features may change, resale value is also a key component in our decision.