Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-04-2020, 17:47   #1

Boat: Island Packet 485 52'
Island Packet 380 w 3'11" Draft

Hello everyone,
We have been researching and viewing the Island Packet 380 and 420 for the past year. Currently we are considering traveling to view a 2002 IP380 that is advertised to have a 3'11" shoal draft. At first I thought this was a mistake but I called the IP folks and yes, they actually did make a few of these boats. I'm wondering if the shorter draft will have a negative effect on how this full keel heavy displacement boat sails compared to the usual 4'7" draft?
Does anyone out there have any experience with sailing this boat?
I am new to cruisers forum so thanks in advance for your help!
angarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2020, 17:48   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat
Re: Island Packet 380 w 3'11" Draft

There was a 31 and I believe 38 centerboard model. This most have almost no keel at all as the hulls themselves are quite deep
Old 20-04-2020, 18:01   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Never heard of one, but I can tell you from experience that the older slightly deeper draft IP’s easily outsail the newer shallower draft ones, which surprised me, I assume IP chased the shallow draft thing too far, cause that’s what the dealers told them the buyers wanted.
Last year we sailed back from the Bahama’s with a 420, he had to motor sail to keep up with us, even when I wasn’t using my code zero and was just on my white sails, I was shocked to see that cause I assumed he would be faster, and this was close hauled.
No IP goes to windward well, but it seems the newer shallower draft ones don’t go to
windward as well as the older boats.