Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2021, 16:57   #46

Re: Is Alberg the best production designer ever?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Cate View Post
I'm surprised that no one has suggested Bob Perry as one of the great cruising boat designers. His track record is right up there IMO, and he's still around to throw stones at!

And once again I'm surprised at the number of absolute newbies that have shown up lately insisting on full keel designs when they have sailed none of them. go figger...
This prejudice is pretty local to the USA... most of the world goes cruising in more modern designs. Not making any value judgement there, but noting a statistical anomaly (IMO).

Jim
I think it probably has something to do with all the YT channels featuring classic full keel boats and happy sailors who never seem to have any problems with their undersides. In one of these channels, the protagonist spends his summer earning money by fabricating new spade rudders for folks at his marina who got themselves into trouble. It just seems like an unnecessary pain point to avoid for a new sailor like me when I can easily find a boat for which losing the rudder is one of the few things I don't have to worry about. As I gain more experience I would absolutely be open to other designs. I'm definitely not dismissing spade rudders and fin keels but I haven't heard many arguments that favor them other than performance, which I'm not so interested in (at this point anyway). For me at the beginning of my sailing career, safety matters more.

I'll check out Bob Perry, ty!
Lance Monotone is offline   Reply With Quote