Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2020, 07:14   #1

Great Light Air Boat with Bulwarks

I've been out of boating for 30 some years. Back in my 20's I was a designer for Bill Crealock & some other notable Southern Cal designers. I'm approaching retirement now and would love to find a boat that at least as of 40 years ago I thought had not been designed. That is, a great light air boat with bulwarks (35' -40' range). This seems like a contradiction as who needs bulwarks in light air, but I always felt uneasy going forward on a wet deck with just a toe rail. Bill and some other designers like Bob Perry have created some great bulwarked boats which are no slouches in light air, but what about a great light air boat with such? Something for us 60 somethings who won't be going offshore beyond the Channel Islands, that can really perform while offering the protection and ease of mind bulwarks afford. Any candidate boats out there or do we need to design one??
Ron F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 07:28   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: Great Light Air Boat with Bulwarks

That is to a degree, an oxymoron. Bulwarks increase windage, as in pushing on the side of the hull, not providing propulsion, when you are talking about light airs. I'm 75, and definitely feel the problem.

You might consider taking a light air boat with wire safety lines/stanchions and add wires strung through the stanchions so you have a substantial barrier to going overboard. Stanchions as found likely have only the top wire and one more in 18" height, but adding two more wires could make it very difficult to get through.