Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2021, 18:13   #1

Boat: Freedom 28M
Freestanding mast opinions wanted

I am a novice, and aspiring single handed sailor. I live on the New Hampshire coast and am planning to buy a freestanding mast sailboat that is capable of offshore sailing. After a couple of seasons of becoming one with my chosen vessel with cruises locally, Maine to Mass, I would like to be able to cruise the Canadian maritime, or south to Florida, where I realize a shallow draft would be important. If all goes well I would like to take the same boat across the Atlantic to Ireland.
So my question to those with experience aboard Freedoms, Nonsuch, Innovator, Tanton and the like, is which particular model am I looking for.
Also opinions on wishbone vs. standard boom. Two smaller sails or one large on?
Thanks, and I will be responding to any input.
Clemson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 20:12   #2

Boat: Freedom 38
Re: Freestanding mast opinions wanted

Hi Clemson, welcome to CF. I bought a 1988 Freedom 38 almost 10 years ago as a newbie who had recently took up sailing. I'm not familiar with the other boats you are considering. I am also a singlehander and soloed with Kynntana from California to Hawaii and back in 2018. She's a perfectly capable boat for ocean crossings except for maybe the Southern Ocean and similar. With boats this age, you'd need to repair/upgrade and check on the condition of the mast and the balsa core deck, but these things are probably typical for anything that's three decades old. Happy to answer any questions you might have. All the best in your search.