Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-12-2013, 08:00   #1

Boat: temporarily boatless...
Foresail Management on Cutter

Hi all: I'm not experienced on a cutter, but I am considering buying one for the ease of singlehanding. Been reading a lot about them, though, and I am confused by something (make that: a lot of things). For one, it seems like the usual first step in reducing headsail area for high wind is to furl the jib (in my case, it would be a yankee) and use the staysail. Is this correct? It seems to me that this would move the center of effort aft relative to the center of resistance (full keel, in case you are wondering), which would increase the tendency to round up and thus increase weather helm. Why not douse the staysail and use the jib? A second related question is in regard to using a storm jib; if I understand what I am reading (and I may not...), it is generally hoisted on the staysail stay. Is this simply because most of these boats have roller furling on the jib, or is further aft the preferred position in any case? Any input from experienced cutter sailors, especially those using a yankee cut instead of a genoa, would be appreciated. Best, Pete
pete33458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2013, 08:41   #2
CF Adviser

Location: Wherever our boat is; Playa Zaragoza, Isla Margarita
Boat: 1994 Solaris Sunstream 40
Re: foresail management on cutter

Pete, I have owned a Bayfield 32C (cutter rig with yankee and staysail), a Cartwright 36 Pilothouse Cutter (that I converted to a 'Solent' rig with furling genoa and a detachable staysail stay with a highfield lever). My current boat, a Solaris Sunstream 40 catamaran is also a cutter rig, although I am also thinking about converting it to a Solent rig.