Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 09:28   #46

Boat: Powles , 33'
Re: fiberglass over steel ??

I am no expert, but the guy who re-gelled our boat ,and who builds and repairs them every day, told me you cant bond fibreglass to steel successfully .
alexandlorna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:03   #47
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 48 Wauquiez Pilot Saloon

The idiocy of glass over steel aside.... (proof yet again that you can find anything on the internet....)

Did anybody else think "pron music" in the video for the boat in the ad???

Mai Tai's fix everything...
HappyMdRSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 23:39   #48

Boat: Steel Ganley 46 (building)

This is an 11 years old thread, hope somebody still reads it? I just bought a steel sailboat hull with engine an some timber inside. The deck, cabin outside and cockpit all have a layer of <fiberglass woven roving fabric> layed up. While taking off a small wooden structure on deck, part of this layer got off and showed the steelplate with a red primer beneath, as if it where brandnew. This boat was built 25 years ago in Auckland NZ, and does not show any sign of corrosion on the exterior. It never has been in the water, but has been outside most of the time, uncovered. Should I remove all the fiber and give it a normal steel coating?
EqPierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 02:12   #49
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and belated welcome aboard the CF, EqPierre.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 03:45   #50