Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2021, 16:44   #1

Dreams vs Reality - First Blue Water Cruiser Advice

Hi All,

I am a novice sailor and haven't sailed for many years, but now my kids are growing up sailing and sailboats are back on the agenda

My dream boat would be a Buizen 48, but I am about 500K short, so the reality is I have 50K to spend and looking at saving another 35-50k for the refit.

I am based in Sydney Australia and am looking for a Blue Water boat to meet my needs.

1) Approx 40ft
2) 6'2 headroom
3) Reasonably fast
4) Skeg Hung rudder
5) Pilot house (If possible -I love them) - I like the safety aspect and protection from the elements and view to the anchorage or on passage
6) Cutter rig
8) Steel or fibreglass - I like the thought of steel for security but concerned when it is surveyed, can they really tell how much rust is in it?
9) Boat has a user forum or internet presence . My first sailboat was a Compass 28 and it was a godsend having a group of people that knew every little issue and the fix!
10) Self steering - I have to do a lot more research on this but I guess it will depend on what boat I get, but the emergency rudder option sounds good.
11) Lots of portholes and hatches for light and ventilation

I know price is going to be the biggest issue but hopefully someone knows of of such a beast.

Any help finding my new "Dream" boat would be much appreciated

Thanks,
Aussiebluewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2021, 19:37   #2

Re: Dreams vs Reality - First Blue Water Cruiser Advice

Are you looking to buy a boat in Australia?