Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-09-2013, 17:32   #1

Does a sea anchor reduce rollovers?

Has anyone researched this area?
SecondBase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 17:41   #2

Re: Does a sea anchor reduce rollovers?

Adlard Coles did. And compared to lying a hull, as example, it does if used properly.

Adlard Coles' Heavy Weather Sailing, Sixth Edition: Peter Bruce: 9780071592901: Amazon.com: Books
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 18:09   #3

Boat: Bristol 32
Hi, I have some experience in the concept. Alard Coles is indeed a great book. Bernard Montissie ( spelling?) " the long way" is in my opinion a great book for heavy weather. I have dragged warps numerous times and simply run before the seas other times. I had a storm jib 35 sq ft for a 36' wood yawl which gives you am idea of what I got used to, if one does! A sea anchor is more a concept for bow to wind I believe. I gave up on the conceot as it takes alot of space and I figure if its that bad I want to go with it, find sea room and if needed cause the waves to break behind me. Not just talking- I spent time doing this.
marinaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2013, 18:12   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by marinaman View Post