Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-12-2008, 12:15   #1

Location: salt lake city utah home of the worlds saltiest sailors
Boat: 21 foot, NO IDEA, Esilenna
deck organization ?

so is there a right way or a wrong way to set up your boat? Im referring to winches and were my lines and sheets are running and being tied or cleated off off. im pretty new at this whole big boat thing so simple explanations would be nice. I know what halyards are and jib and main sheets. basically i just wana know if there is a right way an a wrong way to set up the boat.
jon.wright.lbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2008, 12:46   #2

Boat: Searunner 34 and Searunner Constant Camber 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon.wright.lbc View Post
so is there a right way or a wrong way to set up your boat? Im referring to winches and were my lines and sheets are running and being tied or cleated off off. im pretty new at this whole big boat thing so simple explanations would be nice. I know what halyards are and jib and main sheets. basically i just wana know if there is a right way an a wrong way to set up the boat.
There are a lot of wrong ways to set up a boat. Unfortunately (for giving a simple answer) there is also more than one right way. The general rule is you want ease of reach and operation.

In your case though, I suggest speaking with knowledgeable folks in your area. If you are lucky you will be able to charm them into letting you crew on their boat so you can learn by watching/doing. Do that and/or take some classes. I say all this because most times the boat pretty much is set up, unless you are building it new or doing a major refit. Without knowing all of what you have, and how to use, you're much more likely to be a danger to yourself, your boat or others.