Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-08-2011, 19:29   #1

Buying My First Boat

I am new to sailing & am looking to buy my first sailboat probably within the next few weeks. There are some reasonably priced 25'-27' here in town & at a local lake for around $2500-$4000. Nothing fancy, but good first timers.

I joined a sailing club in San Diego & rent boats out there 2-3 times a year. I just want something to sail local to learn the ins & outs (trials & tribulations) of maintenance & repairs plus to just sail.

My question is, what kind of inspection should I do on it or have done to it before buying? What type of insurance coverage is recommended?
rpoint16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2011, 19:38   #2

Boat: Tartan 30
How comfortable are you with inspecting it yourself?

On a boat that size, Just check the rigging for corrosion, make sure the keel is intact and working (if it's a lifting keel) and make sure the rudder is attached well, with no play in the steering... Inspect the sails to be sure they're in decent shape, if it has a motor, make sure it runs (let in run for about an hour, if possible). Everything else is cosmetic and entirely up to you of what's acceptable or not.

If your not comfortable with all that, ether get the book 'inspecting the aging sailboat' by Don Casey, or hire a pro (or at least someone you trust).
Old 14-08-2011, 20:43   #3

Boat: 37' Samson, Ferro
Re: Buying My First Boat

There are some really good books that go through things to look for in sailboats, easy to understadn and read. Check the library or look on line.

My first boat was a 25' Cheoy Lee, I bought it in the water in San Diego and never had it inspected or dove, I was comfortable with my own research to know what to look for. I paid $4500.