Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2019, 22:04   #1

Boat: A185F, Mystic 30’ Cutter
Bristol 40 live-aboard for a pilot

Hey guys,

Got a question for you.

I'm looking at a Bristol 40 for a liveaboard, I'm a seaplane pilot and my work takes be up and down the east coast once a year, I'd like the ability to go much further. I spent much of my childhood living aboard and now as a young single guy I might want to get back to that. I'm also looking to get my USCG master based on my background boating as well as seaplane background just to have in my back pocket as the FAA can be kinda odd.

Overall question; what does the hive think of a bristol 40 sloop? I was looking at hanse 461 and la rochelle, but thinking this might be a better proof of concept before dumping money, if that makes sense.
NorthernMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2019, 07:25   #2

Boat: Sabre 402
Re: Bristol 40 live-aboard for a pilot

We had friends with a Bristol 40 ketch. The mizzen was a definite impediment in the cockpit, so a sloop would be an improvement. They are narrow, so space is tight. When they came aboard our J/36 the first remark was how spacious it was compared to their 4’ longer boat. The Bristol 40 has a reputation for being well built and seaworthy. It needs about 15 knots of wind to move. Under way it seems to be seakindly, but it is designed to heel going upwind (to increase waterline length) so might not be as comfortable to sail as some others. The length, weight of the boat, and hardware arrangements call for having crew. The cockpit is also too narrow to have the helmsman easily get out from behind the wheel to do anything else but steer.
psk125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2019, 07:34   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422