Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 4.78 average. Display Modes
Old 14-01-2020, 08:12   #1771
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Retired Delivery Capt
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
Re: Boats Less Than $30K Recent Noteworthy Finds

Quote:
Originally Posted by cnschuehle View Post
I called about this boat a few months ago. I would not necessarily say I am in the market currently for a boat but if something comes up that is to good to pass up I would pull the trigger. I am very new to sailing, consider my self relativity handy and would be open to finding something that is a slight project. The guy I talked to on the phone said the boat ran a ground and the keel had been damaged. I assume this is a boat to run away from fast?

Let’s start with it is a Tartan. So if she was damaged in a grounding, it had to be a hard one. Suggest you get some photos of the damage, a quote to repair it by a pro and then add 50%. Keep in mind if the damage is significant - getting insurance after a DIY repair may be a challenge
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ishmael
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2020, 08:49   #1772
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF

There are so many great deals out there, sounds like a "run away",

unless it's **exactly** what you're looking for and an obviously incredible bargain otherwise
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2020, 17:50   #1773

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpeer View Post