Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2020, 18:01   #1

Boat: 1980 Cape Dory '27
Boat on stands for 2 years, stands have dented into hull

I bought a 27' Cape Dory that had been sitting in a cradle for 2 or 3 years. I admit I'm a noob and I didn't hire a survey because the price of the boat was so low. I did notice 3 of the stands were pushing in the hull but the previous owner told me they would "pop out" once I put the boat back in the water.

I started thinking about it and doing some research, and I've read somewhere that most likely these dents will not pop back out since it's been sitting for so long.

So now I'm wondering a few things.

1) Is this considered damage and compromising to the hull's integrity?

2) Is it OK to ignore this, and sail the boat anyway, and take it in stride?

3) If it ought to be repaired, can you point me in the right direction as to method?

Thank you all so much, I really appreciate this forum and all the help I've already received has been wonderful.
mikebikeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2020, 18:14   #2

Boat: Corbin 39 / 41.5 LOA
Re: Boat on stands for 2 years, stands have dented into hull

I’ve see this before on boats in long term storage. Some do revert to original shape. If it were mine, I’d inspect for crazing in gelcoat outside and check inside for cracking in the resin or gelcoat painted on the inside. Do a sounding of the hull inside and out if accessible.