Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2009, 20:12   #1

Boat: o'day 22
Best Trailer Sailor?

im intrested in buying a 1970s trailerable sail boat that can sleep two audlts and two chirldren and go on exstened trips . looked at the san juan 21 but looks small for more than over night . would like to have retracktable keel . my budget is 6000usd .your input would be great im new to sail boats .thanks in advance
cheers

scott whyte
bigwhyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 20:30   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Why limit it to the 70's? What if you got a better, newer, trailerable boat for the same price?

A Moore 24 or a J-22 or a J-24 comes to mind.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 05:39   #3

Boat: Beneteau 32.5
I owned a Westery Centaur that I trailered to the Great Lakes and then to southern Florida where I did several Bahamas trips with it. A solid boat with full standing headroom. A few have circumnavigated. No swing keel, but bilge keels keep the draft down for sailing, launching and low height on trailer. Many now sell in the price range you mentioned. It can be towed, but I would not really call it a trailer sailor. Some heavier displacement boats that can be put on a trailer that may come up in that price range include Folkboats, Cape Dory's and Norsea.