Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2020, 19:01   #1

Boat: Idylles 15.5
Send a message via Yahoo to Idylles15.5
Best Roller Furler ?

So I work on boats for a living and have my own opinion of manufacturers furlers, but I would like some input from some cruisers who have done some serious offshore / ocean cruising, etc. The original Goiot on my 15.5 Idylle has seen better days. This summer on my way to Newport I had to put a dog leash on the furler line feed arm to a cleat so it wouldn't spin around like crazy. lol Anyway lets just say it's time to suck it up. I have fixed a number of profurl units and I'm not a fan. Allen screws backing out or missing from inside the drum mount. Torlon bearings egged out on a few. I like the Schaefer 3100, but oooffaaa expensive. Seldon, Furlex. Fancor? I'm finally renting my house next Oct and leaving for a few years in the boat, so overall strength and reliability is what I'm looking for. I will suck it up and pay for the Schaefer, but just wanted some input from cruisers out there who have been through the **** and furler held up. Thanks. No offense to profurl fans, I've just fixed to many to have any confidence in them. Sealed seals in the dirt too if it gets in. Hence the egged out bearings.
Idylles15.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2020, 19:10   #2

Boat: Cape Dory 31
Re: Best Roller Furler ?

I have two Harken ESP furling units which I installed myself in four hours, each. Four singlehanded runs to Bermuda and plenty of coastal cruising in the last five years. No complaints.
Orion Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 00:22   #3

Almast refit , made in Tasmania Australia, bombproof with a 10 year worldwide warranty, I asked plenty of riggers which furler they never have to repair . Good luck