Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2009, 08:40   #1

Best Crusier/racer for SF Bay...

Hi folks!
I am new to sailing and am shopping for a cruising boat that handles well in the heavy weather of SF Bay. I would like a used boat for under $50,000. Any ideas/comments/suggestions?
Harriet G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 11:23   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
I would like a used boat for under $50,000. Any ideas / comments / suggestions?
I think you might need to define your goals a bit more. Also your budget as well. Aside form the basic costs of buying a boat there is all the effort / expense of getting it all set up. If your goal is only to cruise the SF Bay then I think there are a lot more options. As for the conditions of SF Bay it really is the sailors more than the boats.

You are probably into the 27 to 33 ft range of the older boats. Brand names in this class mean almost nothing. No boat is what it was and many have been well maintained and others may not have been. Brand name isn't the real important criteria. Condition of the boat and the gear it comes with are the most important. I think you want to give up a few luxuries to get the boat that is the best shape. Replacment of items that commonly wear out could add 20% or more to the initial purchase. Updating a boat can take some time just to really understand all the parts of it and just general sailing.