Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2019, 08:33   #1

Beneteau Idylle 15.5 - potential project

long time reader, first post...need help from the CF braintrust

I am 36 with a wife and 2 little ones. I grew up lake sailing with friends so I am not a novice but by no means an experienced captain, especially on salt. I have owned several bay fishing boats over the years and have a weekend place on the gulf. I'm the perpetual tinkerer, having built several custom vehicles, owned RV's, etc. The last few years I have been project-less due to diapers and bottles, which are now a thing of the past. I am looking for something that can satisfy my tinkering/project tendencies and be family oriented. Thus, sailing comes back into the picture.

I have an opportunity to pick up a badly neglected 86' Ben. 15.5. This is the second owner, they purchased it from Moorings in 95' and cruised through 2001. From 2001-2017 the boat saw little use and since 2017 has seen no use, been moored on a channel behind the current owner’s house. Something has the Perkins 4.236 locked up, there is a constant leak in the sunroof which has done a fair amount of interior damage, and the rigging and systems are all very dated. With that, the price might be right, where putting $15k-$30k into the boat as a project makes it feasible.