Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2010, 08:46   #1

Absolute Newbie - Where to Start ?

Hello to you all!

My husband and I are looking to buy our first boat and really don't know where to begin. Unfortunately, we don't have any sailor friends that can help us navigate this process and everyone we do talk to has their own take on it all.

Here are our basics:

We will be keeping the boat in Santa Barbara, where slips are quite pricey. We intend to sail around the Channel Islands for 3-5 years. Then, we'd like to spend a year or so sailing from the Caribbean to the East Coast. We have two kids who are now 4 and 6. We just began sailing in earnest about a year ago and have spent about 2 weeks onboard on charter trips. We've also done a bit of daysailing out of Santa Barbara. We don't have the mechanical/detective skills YET to totally fix up a boat but hope to learn them along the way. That being said, we don't want to buy a total fixer-upper.

Budget: Whew, this is a big one. We're about to sell our house in NC, move across the country, and rent a tiny apt so that we can buy a boat. Ultimately, we can't spend more than $100K in the next 5 years but could conceivably come up with some cash along the way for repairs.

My questions are hopefully straightforward:
1. Should we be thinking about buying something small and manageable to sail for a few years and then trade up? For now, we want our boat to sleep us all and have a small galley for trips to the Channel Islands. For later, we'll want something with two cabins and is capable of making the trek to the Caribbean.