Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

View Poll Results: Which of the two for singlehanded learning?
Laser 9 69.23%
Sunfish 4 30.77%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2022, 17:33   #1

A Sunfish to teach myself the ropes???

Planning to buy a Sunfish to learn the ropes. I'm in no rush. I have no sailing experience, but some theorical knowledge. My eventual goal is to eventually be able to sail something 30 - 40 ft. Is that a good plan? Am I missing something? A big mistake? Or whatever the community would like to say about it. I'm all ears. Thanks.

PS: I asked the similar question on the multihull page and changed the plans after some feedback.
Kite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2022, 17:54   #2

Re: A Sunfish to teach myself the ropes???

A sailing dinghy is certainly a good way to learn the basics of sailing. But it’s not the only way and it may not be the best way for you. There is a strong physical element to sailing a dinghy; a yacht requires some physical strength but not the same level of agility as a dinghy. So if you find that the Sunfish is not for you don’t be put off, get some seatime on a yacht. If you do like the dinghy, then you’ll quickly learn how sails boats respond to wind and waves.
Yellowtulip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2022, 18:07   #3

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37