Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-01-2021, 12:15   #1

1st time buyer: IP 350's - comparable boats?

Hello everyone. First time buyer looking for some advice on which boats are comparable to IP 350.

Here’s my background (as someone may ask). I’m in year 2 of my 3-yr plan to become live-aboard cruiser with big plans (no, I will not use the C-word). Note that I have some past experience sailing on Lasers AND have lived/ worked on a 300 ft tall ship when in was doing my 2-yr mandatory military service in the Navy).
Year 1: completed ASA 101-104, read dozens of books (Slocum, Moitessier, Pardeys, Cornell etc) and joined local boat club (which provides me free use of a 28 ft Hunter which I’ve skippered single-handed few times last summer)
Year 2: signed up for ASA 105/106, will take more courses (marine diesel, electrics, weather etc). Will also try to get out more on other boats - which was tough last year due to Covid (if anyone in the Annapolis area is looking for crew for day or weekend trips, please let me know!!)
Year 3: buy the boat and start living the dream...