Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2021, 08:40   #1

Send a message via Skype™ to SeanTL
Due Diligence Advice

Greetings To All,

I'm a newbie here with some limited sailing experience from years back in the lakes located near my home in Toronto, Canada.

I have long wanted to expand my experience by joining a boat for some blue-water, ocean sailing, and to that end, have been communicating with a number of captains as a potential crew member on their journeys.

My question concerns what due diligence others here would recommend doing, regarding these contacts, before accepting a crew position on one of these boats?

I have asked about the basics, including their experience, safety equipment on board and how they operate in terms of expense and task sharing, but I'm wondering how much further research is recommended, given that I would be living, 24/7, in close quarters with people who, until I join them on board, are strangers to me.

Any and all advice is appreciated!

Fair Winds,
Sean
SeanTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2021, 08:59   #2

Re: Due Diligence Advice

No magic here - spend as much time as it takes to be comfortable that their plans align well with your expectations. Get a resume, references, and do a back-ground check. A mere hint of substance abuse issues should be strongly considered.

I spent about 5-years as a full-time delivery captain and while I never had possible crew put me through a due diligence wringer as I always knew them at least casually, it would not have bothered me if they had wanted to take an extra bit of caution. I might have even considered it a positive thing.

Good luck and be careful.

Peter
mvweebles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2021, 09:12   #3

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the quick reply.